Psych Assessment

25 01 2009

I just finished all my psych tests (before the interview part of the Psych assessment). ECM are really gracious and put that all on the other side of your acceptance – I guess it doesn’t all hang on your sanity then… 🙂

I’ve been looking forward to this assessment for a while. It’s a great opportunity to have someone spend the time thinking about how you work, what things might be helpful to know or barriers you’ll hit, and then to be able to address or plan things from a more informed position. And because I love those Cleo/Dolly Quiz’s and this feels like a more ramped up version!

But one of the questionnaires flattened me. Assessing mental states and dependence issues in 334 questions – I was ready to poke my eyes out. Question after question assesses drug usage, suicidality, difficulty capturing thoughts, anxiety, paranoia, depression… I had to take a tea break in the middle just to get through.

And depressing as it was, the hardest part was that almost every question I answered – I know someone that would answer differently, who is struggling and hurting in that way. Amongst close family and friends people who are battling every day to keep their head afloat, and not to do further damage to themselves.

Those questions were a journey of grief.
And of thankfulness.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

