God’s into real Estate

10 08 2009

My weakness isn’t romance novels, I don’t get soppy at weddings – but auctions make me wistful, the Freedom catalogue is my Mills and Boon; give me the Domain Real Estate guide and I’m gone. When others wrestled with leaving for the mission field single – I grieved over the flat I’d never own, the ecclectic furniture I’d never buy, the crockery set I have to leave behind.   Today I drove to Copacabana on the Central Coast – driving over the last hill, the view opens up revealing the ocean at the foot of beautiful green hills dotted with homes in leafy gardens with breathtaking scenery. Places like this get longing – owning these homes must mean owning a better life. Each year while I run the City to Surf I have the same struggle because its seems like living with that view must add depth and richness to life, it must be a better place to live…   Normally, with a lot of self talk (right behind trying to convince myself I can actually make it to the finish line of the race – I think I can, I think I can…) – I work my way back to reality. Life gets no easier because you can drink your tea looking out over the Harbour Bridge.   But on the drive today, God spoke something new to me. Instead of trying to reason my own thought away – He reminded me that this is nothing on heaven. This beauty, this wonder – pales before the New Creation. And I have all of eternity to enjoy that. I’ll live in it forever…  

15:1A Psalm of David.

O Lord, who shall sojourn in your tent?

Who shall dwell on your holy hill?

2He who walks blamelessly and does what is right

and speaks truth in his heart; …

5 He who does these things shall never be moved.

 I was washed, sanctified and justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the spirit of our God. (1 Cor 6:10). In Jesus I’m made blameless and upright – I’m of the people who live with God! And I’ll never be moved.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

