Unlearning language

11 11 2009

I was prepared to struggle in Spanish. I was prepared to make a fool of myself on a regular basis, and for a long while to not even know I was doing it. I was also prepared to work with people from different teams who might have very different backgrounds, culture or theology from me. What I wasn’t prepared for was the disconnect between my English and that of the rest of the English speakers on the team. Random words we use all the time at home are often unrecognized, hysterically funny, or most disconcertingly – quite offensive… Every week I’ve found another word in conversation that provokes the kind of response that makes me feel like I need to wash my mouth out with soap. Words that we’d use in a sermon at home, they don’t use on the street… So I’m working at eradicating them. Word by word. I’m going to make a fortune out of my swear jar!

Actions

Information

One response

2 12 2009
Donna

So – what are these words which you are getting rid of? I’m wondering how many of them I use (and maybe I’m offending my international friends..)
Donna

Leave a Reply

